pecan sticky buns

Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 8: Pecan Sticky Buns

The pecan sticky buns were supposed to post two weeks ago, but a relaxing quick trip to the Caribbean followed by another weekend away with friends didn’t leave much time for baking.  Fortunately there’s an extra week in May before the next recipe:) Despite the near 90 degree temperatures with 100% humidity I decided this past holiday weekend would be a better time than any to tackle the uber buttery Pecan Sticky Buns.

Making the brioche dough was a first for me, and thankfully my trusty Kitchen Aid mixer stood the test and kneaded the dough for the full 25 minutes without over heating.

After reading a lot of other comments I decided to not use the full amount of butter when creating the layers.  I used more than half of what was called for, but I don’t know that I really felt like I was missing out on anything after the first buttery bite.

I felt like everything came together   relatively quickly, and the dough rolled out really nicely as well.  Although I could’ve definitely rolled them up a little tighter.
Because of the heat the rolls rose in a pinch and they baked to a perfect doneness in the suggested time – a first for me and my oven. When I inverted the buns the caramel didn’t all come out even though I tried mixing the butter and the brown sugar together before putting the buns in the pan, so I ended up scooping it out and putting it on top of the buns – I’m sure it tasted the same in the end.
These turned out quite nicely, but I just don’t think I’m that much of a
sticky bun person.  I’m happy that I decided to only bake half of the dough, I definitely am a brioche kind of girl and can’t wait to bake that off and have some brioche and jam for
breakfast:)
If you’re interested in the recipe check out the great hosts  Lynn of Eat Drink Man Woman Dogs Cat &  Nicole of Cookies on Friday or better yet, buy the book: Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan!
Happy Summer!
This entry was published on May 29, 2012 at 1:07 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 8: Pecan Sticky Buns

  1. Wonderful rolls and such an elegant “cake”.
    I personally did not like the taste so much. The brioche yes, but not the sticky gooey topping.
    For this extra Tuesday I’ve baked Julia’s White Loaves and I was so pleased I did it: great soft bread!

  2. Beautiful! Very time consuming, but the taste is so worth it. :)

  3. It certainly was an adventure making these sticky buns. I am glad you had a chance to catch up.

  4. Your Pecan Sticky Buns do look delicious – baking only half and freezing the rest for maybe brioches is just the way to go with this recipe, I agree. It is nice that you took the time to “catch-up” on this recipe.

    Have a wonderful week!

  5. Awesome buns!!! It was my first time with brioche dough too. It was soo much fun. So happy we had a makeup Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

