Berry Galette

Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 14 Berry Galette

This week’s recipe, Berry Galette sounded like a perfect, not-too-over-the-top fruit dessert.  When it’s humid like this my patience melts away in the heat.  I also liked the idea that there is cornmeal in the crust, something to give it a little texture, and after 2 hours in the fridge it rolled out really easily.  It was a bit soft/sticky but I made sure I put a little more flour on the counter than I usually would.

I chose a to use a filling of blueberries and blackberries.  I tasted the fruit before spreading them overtop of the dough, and because they were both really ripe and sweet (and local, hurrah for summer!) I didn’t add all of the sugar, but did add the honey as I thought maybe it would  be beneficial. I don’t think there was any lack of sweetness in the final product, the fruit tasted like the best summery version of itself.  I baked this on a Sunday morning, with the thought that it could be a brunch dessert.  It was a good fit, except that we could smell it baking, and it probably could’ve used an additional five minutes in the oven.  When  I went to transfer the galette from the baking sheet to the rack, the bottom crumpled.  All crumpling aside, it was a tasty little treat.  I enjoyed the flakiness of the pastry, and the texture of the cornmeal really did come through.

My photos this time are not so great – when it came out of the oven, my stomach was calling all the shots….

If you’re interested in the recipe check out the great hosts Lisa of Tomato Thymes in the Kitchen and Andrea of The Kitchen Lioness.  Better yet, buy the book:  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan!

This entry was published on August 7, 2012 at 8:28 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 14 Berry Galette

  1. Teresa on said:

    Sometimes it’s more important to eat and enjoy than to get a good shot!

  2. Well, I really do like your first picture: it’s a beautiful galette.
    We loved it (them, as we made two) soo much!
    This recipe is a keeper and it looks great!

  3. My family is pretty patient with my picture taking–but sometimes you just have to eat!
    This was a fun dessert–I’ll make it again.

  4. Summer on a plate – I don’t know how any one can take time for pictures when that is sitting there waiting.

  5. Glad you enjoyed it! It would be great with brunch.

  6. Looks wonderful!

  7. Looks delicious :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

