bwj whole wheat loaf

Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 17 Whole Wheat Loaves

Well, I didn’t exactly skip #16 two weeks ago – the Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake, I did try it out back in mid June as a birthday/father’s day cake for my dad, and it was a delightful take on an upside down cake.  I just couldn’t remember much of the process of putting it together (I guess that is the downside of rushing through) other than it took quite some time – so I decided to skip that post.

So we’re on to #17, whole wheat loaves.  I was afraid I was going to miss this one too, but stopped to remind myself in the midst of day planning that participating in this ‘bake-along’ is something that I enjoy, so even if I miss a couple of hours of sleep just this one night, I should take the time to do one of the things that literally makes me forget the rest of the world, one knead at a time.

I wasn’t able to find malt extract in my local Whole Foods, so I substituted with a bit of molasses, yum.  My Kitchen Aid mixer was not feeling the ten minute knead on medium, so I gave it about 5 minutes at a lower speed, and then did the last 5 minutes by hand – oh so therapeutic!  Once the dough was in the bowl, I checked after an hour, and it had already doubled in size and was looking lovely!

So I gave it another 15 minutes just to be sure, and then flipped it out, hand pressed it, folded it over, and got it right into the buttered pan.  The second rise was equally as quick – this whole quick rise does not normally happen for me – I was kind of beyond excited!  I’m guessing based on other’s comments that it has to do with the honey added in with the yeast.

So into the oven it went with hopes it would bake up into a lovely breakfast toast sort of bread.  It smelled heavenly while baking, and I have to say I am enjoying the drop in temperatures here so I feel even a tad more motivated to bake as we head into fall.

It turned out to be a great loaf!  Perfect for toast in the morning with what remains of the blueberry, peach, ginger jam I made earlier in the summer:) I only made one of the loaves, so I shaped and froze the other half of the dough into rolls, something to look forward to with the first fall pot of soup!

If you’re interested in this week’s recipe check out these two fabulous hosts: Michele from Veggie Num Nums and Teresa of The Family That Bakes Together!  Or better yet, buy the book:  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan!

This entry was published on September 19, 2012 at 1:09 am and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 17 Whole Wheat Loaves

  1. The loaf and the rolls look beautiful. This dough is so versatile.

  2. Great photos of your loaf and rolls. I opted to make rolls. Look forward to making loaves.That’s what I like about baking…it brings me in my zen zone…peaceful.

    Carmen

    http://sometimessavory.wordpress.com

  3. Freezing the dough into rolls is a great idea – it’s nice to have something on hand that requires minimal effort.
    Lovely bread.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

