Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 2. Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

delish

As a serious chocolate enthusiast I was quite excited that this was the second recipe for Baking with Julia.  The only thing I was unsure about was the addition of both milk and white chocolates to the tartlets.  Typically I don’t allow milk and dark to mingle, I don’t like anything to ‘dilute’ my dark chocolate, and I can’t say I really believe that white chocolate belongs in the chocolate family.

However, I was very pleasantly surprised, both by the texture of the bittersweet chocolate filling as well as the occasional chunk of ‘other’ flavors that came across with each bite.

This was my first time using both a food processor and the frisage technique in building the dough, and I wish there were a picture of the surprise on my face when the dough started to come together with the first smear across the counter.  I was certain I had messed up the recipe or directions.

first time I'd used the frisage technique for the dough to come together

The filling was quite a surprise once it was baked.  I thought it was going to be dense beyond belief because I am the person who despite the number of uncooked egg yolks has to taste the batter if there is chocolate involved.  After that initial uncooked taste I feared it would be a dessert where you could only get two bites down before needing an hour between bites, but it was so light and almost    souffle-ish!

probably wouldn't use them again, even though i left them out to harden a few days, still came out soft in the tartletsFor the biscotti I went to one of my favorite Italian bakeries in the city, Il Cantuccio.  And I got the dark chocolate studded cantucci, but I don’t know that I’d use them again.  I left them out to stale up a bit for a few days, but even once they were bakes, they we’re soft and just melted into the filling.  And, the bittersweet chocolate overpowered the cantucci flavor, so I kind of forgot they had even been added.

If you’re interested in the recipe you can find it on one of the hosts for this round blog: Spike Bakes, or buy the book, Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.


This entry was published on February 22, 2012 at 1:57 am and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 2. Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

  1. So agree with you on the white “chocolate” thing. What a gorgeous tart!

  2. Pretty presentation on a lovely plate. Your tarts looked very similar to mine, and my biscotti should have been broken up into smaller pieces. Over all, it tasted yummy ~

  3. Love the presentation 🙂

  4. Very nice – lovely presentation.

  5. Agreed on the white chocolate. I was looking and looking for a small bar, and couldn’t find anything I was willing to pay the price for, so I ended up with a big bag of white chocolate chunks. Those will go stale in my cupboard!
    Your tarts look great though – the shells look so smooth! Impressive.

  6. bevwinchester on said:

    I just used some simple mini biscotti bought at grocery (I think Nonni brand); it stayed crunchy & was quite yum. Your tarts are lovely.

Leave a Reply

