Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 3 Rugelach

This was my first time making and constructing rugelach, and it was surprising in a few ways.  I wasn’t sure I would be a fan of all of the dried fruits and nuts, whenever I’m at Zabar’s if I’ve got a hankering I always pick up the chocolate rugelach.  And I had an assortment of both the fruit and nuts left over from various holiday baking so I thought it might be a good opportunity to try and clean out the pantry, so I wasn’t sure if mixing too many things together would tip the cookie over the edge of rugelach oblivion. But, I have to say the results were delicious!

This was a time intensive recipe, fortunately I started a week in advance.  I made the apricot lekvar from some unappetizing looking unsulphured apricots, but I have to say the finished product was delicious and even turned from the muddy brown to a burnt orange color.

The dough was a bit of a challenge to            roll after a few minutes out of the fridge, I think I got a bit of an arm workout that morning, which is never a bad thing.  And it definitely took a few tries, and finally some plastic wrap assistance, to roll the whole thing up.

I baked one of the rolls after the shortest  amount of time in the fridge, 4hours, and those definitely did not stay together as well as the rest which had at least a 24 hour stay on the bottom shelf in the fridge.  And my rolls really didn’t turn out so much like a spiral, but more of a wrap around, it would definitely take some practice to get them tighter, but all in all the final product was a flaky, rich pastry with a nice gooey, yet texturally varied and pleasing filling due to the crunchiness of the nuts.  And that first bite into the cinnamon sugared nut crust, mmmm you knew something good was following that!

As for the somewhat ambiguous fillings: those who thought they did not like dates, loved the dried fruit combo of Medjool dates, dried cherries, and currants.  And in a combination of toasted almonds, hazelnuts, pecans, and walnuts the nuts whose flavor were able to break through and shine through the rest of the sugar, fruit, and cinnamon were the hazelnuts and walnuts.  Go Filbert trees!  I do so love hazelnuts:)

I think the sign of success for this recipe I received from a friend who had stopped by during the baking last week.  Having four dozen of the rugelach hanging around was not helping out my thrice daily well-balanced meals, I packed her up a few to go, and when I asked later if she liked them she replied with, ‘oh my god, I scarfed them all down at once, so good!’ I think it was a win!

If you’re interested in the recipe check out Jessica of My Baking Heart or  Margaret of The Urban Hiker sites – the two great hosts for this recipe! Or better yet, buy the book  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

This entry was published on March 6, 2012 at 2:40 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 3 Rugelach

  1. I had a lot of the same reservations as you did. 🙂 They were a lot of work but everyone ended up loving them! Your Rugelach turned out beautiful.

  2. they look great! i have a ton myself i need to give away. although, my husband got onto me for giving away the tartlets, so i better wait until he’s finished with his sare

  3. ugh… sare = share. 😉

  4. These are absolutely gorgeous! Thanks so much for baking along this week! 🙂

  5. They look wonderful! I thought it was fun & happy I could do it over a few days!

  6. I froze half of the dough recipe, cut in half so I have a dozen or so pastries when I use each one.
    Your´s came out great.

  7. These came out beautifully!
    I loved that this was a use up the odds & ends kind of recipe. I don’t think I had to buy anything special to make these.

  8. your rugelach look absolutely delicious! 🙂

  9. bevwinchester on said:

    Oh my goodness- your rolls are simply gorgeous; I made the apricot lekvar & we loved it, but I really appreciate the versatility of fillings that can be used in these!

Leave a Reply

