Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 4: Irish Soda Bread

This week’s Baking with Julia recipe fit in with the holiday last weekend quite well!  There’s definitely some Irish heritage in this house, and the fact that there’s a bread to make to go along with the corned beef, cabbage, and beer – well that’s all the better.   This year I did skip out on Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Guiness Cake – the rugelach were hanging around for quite some time followed by a chocolate birthday cake that somehow lingered in the fridge, calling me for a little sliver throughout the day…

Back to the soda bread, this was the first time I’d made a soda bread that only had four ingredients, and then I opted to add in about  3/4 cup of currants.  I was a little worried about it being bland, there isn’t a hint of sugar!  But I must say buttermilk is the magic ingredient in this (other than the baking soda) because it gave the bread a texture that I wouldn’t have imagined in a soda bread that’s got anywhere from 12 ingredients to just four.

currants on the run...The ingredients came together and the the whole thing was ready in less than five minutes.  And I think the whole process was a bit counterintuitive, I felt like I should be doing more work and nearly kept kneading too long.  I slashed my cross a bit too deep, I think I was overly excited that I could pop it in the oven so quickly!

 

But, it all worked out once in the oventop view the cross really opened up to reveal beautiful texture of the interior.  I felt like the whole thing looked a bit like a valley surrounded by four floury mountains.  As for flavor, it definitely needed a topping be it butter, jam, or leftover cinnamon sugar/ nut topping from a previous recipe.  I think if I made it again I would go for the savory side of things and maybe add some cheddar, some sort of onion.  I guess the possibilities are endless!

If you’re interested in the recipe check out the fantastic hosts for this week: Cathy of My Culinary Mission or Carla of Chocolate Moosey.  Better yet, buy the book  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

This entry was published on March 20, 2012 at 1:07 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 4: Irish Soda Bread

  1. Piebird on said:

    like your closeup – craggy mountain top!

  2. Buttermilk definitely does add a certain magic to baked goods.
    Very lovely.

Leave a Reply

