Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 6: Lemon Loaf Cake

This week’s recipe came together nice and quickly.  All was going smoothly and as I popped the loaf in the oven I realized I hadn’t photographed any part… oops.  So just finished product this week.

It really was a simple batter that I tried not to over-mix, and for the first time in amost two years the loaf baked in the recommended amount of time in my oven!  I will give credit where it’s due: I had recently read Dorie’s post about preheating your oven and waiting, http://doriegreenspan.com/2012/03/ive-always-had-an-inkling.html, and I think  for the first time I remembered to do this.  In the past recipes have always taken an extra ten minutes or so than the recommended time.

It smelled heavenly during it’s stay in the oven, and once out, truth be told, I don’t think I allowed it the full cooling time before having a sliver.  It was delicious.  I’m generally don’t get so excited about pound cake, but this was great – I love the natural lemon flavor, the crusty top and delicious crumb of the cake itself.

We’ve had the most beautiful spring weather these past couple weeks (with a dash of July yesterday) so to serve the cake I decided to go with some strawberries and lightly whipped cream.  The combination of the sweet strawberries and cream enhanced the tartness of the lemon, will definitely be making this cake again.

If you’re interested in the recipe check out the fabulous hosts for this week: Truc  of Treats & Michelle of The Beauty of Life.  Or better yet, buy the book: Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan and bake along!

This entry was published on April 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

16 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 6: Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. Looks great with the cream and berries, glad you liked it!!

  2. The strawberries and cream are perfect for spring. Looks lovely.

  3. that looks absolutely perfect!

  4. The strawberries and cream were a nice touch. This cake definitely was a perfect mate for fresh fruit!

  5. Your pictures are beautiful. (How did you get that whipped cream to sit there so perfectly?)
    I also read Dorie’s article on preheating and am following what she said. It is making a difference in my baking too.

  6. Your pictures were great 🙂

  7. Berries and cream! That sounds fantastic!

  8. Glad you enjoyed it. Love your plate!

Leave a Reply

