Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 7: Hungarian Shortbread

I’ve been eyeing the recipe for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie ever since I bought the book, so I was excited when I saw it pop up on the list for the month!  Of course this month, well April really, turned out to be a busy month with performances, auditions, and, a bittersweet family funeral out of town with lots of relatives I hadn’t seen since the last family wedding two years ago.  One of the highlights of the month is that a friend was/is in town from Copenhagen whom I also haven’t seen for nearly two years and wanted to spend as much time as possible with catching up.  So this recipe came in handy this past weekend when it was decided that my fellow soprano friend would come for dinner to see all of the renovations we’ve done in our apartment and meet our dog, and I needed a quick dessert.  She was one of the few people I let come and stay when all we had in the kitchen was a newly tiled floor, the old sink, and a refrigerator.  So needless to say it would have been impressive even if there were only a few appliances, but it’s always nice to receive compliments on the labor and time we put into the kitchen renovations.

I was able to find rhubarb in the grocery store on Saturday and made the jam Sunday morning.  Rhubarb was something I thought I didn’t like for a long time.  I grew up eating all sorts of rhubarb concoctions because my parents have an amazing garden and my parents grew more than their fair share of rhubarb.  But I can remember picking off and eating the ‘crisp’ part off of a rhubarb crisp and leaving the pink part behind thinking the rhubarb was too tart.  But in the past ten years or so I can’t get enough of it!  So even though I halved the shortbread recipe, I still made the full recipe of jam so that we’d have some leftover for the week:)

I was thankful that the dough came together quickly, and even happier that all I had to do was grate it into the baking dish after 30 minutes in the freezer.  I halved the recipe this time, we’re heading out for a beach vacation in a couple of weeks and don’t need the extra sweets calling my name from the countertop.

I didn’t pre-bake the bottom layer of the shortbread and I should have given it at least a ten minute headstart.  I really could have baked the whole thing for a good ten minutes more, but it was one of those days where I was running really short on time and Jason came home with a muddy dog after a good hike and getting the mud off the dog and down the drain instead of allover the clean apartment had a higher priority than letting the shortbread go another ten minutes.  So it was just slightly underdone, but tasty nonetheless.  Next time around I’ll make sure I have more time:)

The shortbread was a success, my Scandi soprano friend loved it as well as Jason and I!  If you’re interested in the recipe check out the two fabulous hosts for this week: Lynette of 1smallkitchen and Cher of The not so exciting adventures of a dabbler…

 Or better yet, buy the book:  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.
Happy May!!
This entry was published on May 1, 2012 at 5:50 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 7: Hungarian Shortbread

  1. rhubarb really is the best, imo. lucky girl to grow up with a family garden. 🙂

  2. I didn’t care for rhubarb when I was younger either but not I truly love it! Nice post 🙂

  3. I found rhubarb in my market too. I had never had it before but it tasted great in this cake.

  4. Your Shortbread looks so yummy 🙂 It was a very easy and fun recipe … 🙂

  5. Love rhubarb!! Though I did not make it. I had five bags of cranberries in the freezer just waiting to be used. One down, four to go!

  6. Your bars look great! I froze my dough for 30 min also and had no problem grating the dough…from reading other blogs it seems like most people left it in longer. Good thing we didn’t. 🙂

  7. My parents started feeding me rhubarb at a young age and for some reason I always liked it
    Your bars look great – thanks for baking along this week

  8. Teresa on said:

    I love your first photo especially. We enjoyed these squares so much that there were no leftovers.

Leave a Reply

