Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 10: French Strawberry Cake

As the temperature rises and the days get longer I find myself wanting to be in the kitchen less and less, and out of doors more and more.  So I did skip the first recipe for this month, but with my ardent love of strawberries, I couldn’t pass up the French Strawberry Cake.  I am sure there will be a time in the future when I can revisit the Oasis Naan.

I decided to cut the recipe in half and use my six inch pan.  I would’ve loved to have made this for the Birthday/Father’s Day celebration we had for my Dad this past weekend, but strawberries aren’t his thing so I went instead with the Nectarine Upside-Down Chiffon Cake (fingers crossed it comes up in the next couple months).  After a weekend of cake, I didn’t feel like the entire rest of the week should be filled with daily cake, what with the reopening of a delicious homemade ice cream shop three blocks away that I can’t seem to stay away from.

This was my first attempt with a genoise, and although I read the directions prior to starting on the recipe, I forgot to split the sugar into an addition in the sifted flour mixture, and one in with the eggs.  Oops.  And my eggs took probably twice as long to form the ribbons than what it stated in the book.  I had read others’ comments that talked about having to heat the eggs to make it an ‘authentic’ genoise.  But I thought I’d try it as written the first time around.  My eggs did eventually form the required ribbons (and I did add a tablespoon of sugar just to make sure there was some in there).

I was super careful with my folding, but I have to say I was still a bit surprised to find the cake itself a little tough.  Now after having a sliver today, it seems to have absorbed the sweet strawberry juices and maybe a bit of liquid from the whipped cream – so the texture today is delightfully soft.  But maybe this something that would be best made a day ahead.

I only sliced my thin cake in half – I was afraid I would end up with more crumbs than anything else if I went for three layers.  And the whipped cream – well that may have been my favorite part.  I was finally assembling this late last night, and my faltering patience won – I could’ve let the cream go a bit longer in the mixer, but on the upside I really love a soft whipped cream.  And then due to it’s softness when I was trying to ‘smooth’ out the edges, I decided to skip the piping entirely (which I generally like to do).  The end result is a sweet cake with satisfying bits of berry in every bite and a lovely whipped cream with a hint of tang from the sour cream – delicious!

If you’re interested in the recipe check out the fabulous hosts for this week: Sophia of Sophia’s Sweets and Allison of Sleep Love Think Dine.  Or better yet, buy the book:  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan🙂

Happy Summer!

This entry was published on June 19, 2012 at 7:57 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 10: French Strawberry Cake

  1. Very lovely looking cake! I am glad that you enjoyed it, we did too. It is a nice treat with all the sweet strawberries and the whipped cream and certainly worth making again.

    Have a wonderful week!

  2. I think the genoise technique just takes some practice 🙂 Thank goodness for strawberry juices!

  3. I too prefer to be outside in the wonderful weather we are having! Between the outdoors and blogging nothing else is getting done. 🙂 Your cake looks lovely.

  4. It’s very lovely.
    I find that this time of year, it isn’t so much the cooking that I try to avoid, but all the write ups…

Leave a Reply

