Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: 15 Popovers

I did make these back in the third week of August when they were due, which feels like ages ago.  But somehow the 15th through the 31st of the month turned into the busiest part of the summer with working, rehearsals, and performances.  It is only now as I’m getting ready to post the results for this week’s recipe that I realized I never got the popovers up.

Popovers have never really been my thing – I never understood the excitement.  But in homage to Marion Cunningham I definitely thought it was appropriate to give them a (re)try.  I don’t have a popover pan, I just used muffin tins.  The batter came together in a snap, and I kept peeking in the oven to see how quickly they would puff up.  And what do you know, they tasted just like I remembered, an eggy, buttery, airy treat.  Before my rehearsal that evening I had two just out of the oven for dinner with  a little melted butter and homemade jam, for a quick quasi summer dinner it was perfect.

When my husband was coming home as I was leaving that evening,I told him ‘there are popovers on the counter, eat as many as you like they don’t keep.’  His response was that he’d never had them, but I think they were a hit for him.  When I returned there was only one left:)

If you’re interested in the recipe check out the two fabulous hosts for that week:  Paula of Vintage Kitchen Notes and Amy of Bake With Amy.  Or better yet, buy the book: Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

This entry was published on September 3, 2012 at 9:12 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

