Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: Gingerbread (Baby) Cake

I’m finally back on board – well a day late, but back on board!  After a very busy fall my schedule finally seems to be quieting enough to catch up oh so much, and getting back to these bake alongs.

For this recipe I opted to cut the recipe in half and bake in my 6″ cake pan.  And I’m happy I made both of those decisions.  The cake is so rich that I can’t imagine having an entire 4″ cake to myself.  I have long been a fan of gingerbread cake, started out with the Silver Palate recipe and just last year I stumbled upon the Smitten Kitchen recipe.  So I was excited to try this one out, but to be perfectly honest I think the Smitten Kitchen recipe is still my favorite.

This cake while delightfully moist and incredibly flavorful seemed to be overwhelmed by the molasses, it’s all I can really taste until I get to a little piece of ginger mince.  And the thing I love about gingerbread is the ginger!  So while this recipe definitely ranks with a strong flavor which is definitely what I look for, I feel like it needs a bit of rebalancing.

As others had noted this one did take a bit longer in the oven than what is stated.  Here’s what it looked like straight out of the oven:

gingerbreadbwj

 

Perhaps one of my favorite things about gingerbread is the giant dollop of softly whipped cream applied to the top.  The scent of this cake baking in the kitchen definitely made me feel like the holidays are upon us!

gingerbread2If you’re interested in this week’s recipe check out the fabulous host Karen of Karen’s Kitchen Stories, or better yet buy the book:  Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan!

Tis the season!

 

This entry was published on December 5, 2012 at 7:10 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: Gingerbread (Baby) Cake

  1. Your cake looks so delicious…like a big chewy brownie!! If only it tasted like that! We were disappointed with the flavor but it was fun trying out anyway.

  2. Your cake does look incredible. Looks like you got a lot of volume. I didn’t enjoy the flavour of this cake. Found it way too strong. But thanks for the tip about the smitten kitchen recipe. I will head on over there to have a look at it.

  3. This was an overwhelmingly flavored cake – Thanks for the Smitten Kitchen tip!

Leave a Reply

