Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia: Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m back.  And what a way to start with a variation on Chocolate Chip Cookies:)  I wanted to start out back at the beginning of the month with Croissants, but at 27 weeks pregnant I cry way too easily these days and could see myself just tossing everything in the garbage when I probably wouldn’t need to.  So I decided to ease gently back in with cookies.  And what a way to be reintroduced to these great recipes.

I made these a couple of weeks ago around my husband’s birthday, I do believe his favorite thing in the world is a chocolate chip cookie.  The only snag is that he doesn’t like coffee or even anything mocha flavored.  Serious flaw I know, but I was willing to look past it and his distaste for my other favorite, olives, and embark on a life together five years ago – and now what with a munchkin on the way, there are no regrets on my end.  I haven’t given up though having him ‘try’ olives, it’s futile I know, but I won’t give up.
So I only used half of the recommended amount of instant coffee, but for fear of it not having that extra oomph I did use instant espresso instead.  I was happy to see that the recipe called for chilling the dough, it something I always think I want to do, but generally if I’m making cookies it’s because I have a craving that I want fulfilled in a couple of hour period, not the next day.  My patience is slightly limited when it comes to baked goods.  There was an article in the New York Times sometime in the past couple of years that discussed the difference in result of chocolate chip cookies with refrigerated vs non refrigerated dough, and the winner always came out (even for your Toll House recipe) the refrigerated dough.

In another effort to ‘mask’ the coffee flavor I used 8 oz of bittersweet and 8 oz of semisweet chocolate.  And it was a success, after crunching down a few of the cookies I asked if he liked them, and it was an overwhelming yes.  I think the ratio of chocolate to dough helped prompt the response.  All in all an excellent, crisp chocolate chip cookie.

If you’re interested in this weeks recipe check out the fabulous host:  Peggy of Galettista.  Or better yet buy the book: Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

This entry was published on March 19, 2013 at 7:34 pm and is filed under Tuesdays With Dorie: Baking With Julia. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

